my pictures. my life


Hello world!
October 1, 2008, 11:13 pm
Filed under: Personal | Tags:

Take it easy on me, folks, this is my frist blog entry as well as my first blog! Given the state of our economy and the Vice Presidential Debate looming over us, I will spare you all the politalk and concentrate on photography! How’s that? I have my very first wedding as a second shooter this Saturday, the 4th. Am I nervous? You bet I am! I typically don’t get nervous when shooting others(anymore), but with weddings it’s a little different – you can’t reshoot a wedding. You only get one chance to do a great job on someone’s BIG DAY. I don’t know about you, but the thought of that just sends chills down my spine. However, since I am just a second shooter, it relieves some of the pressure that burdens me so. That said, I am confident enough in my abilities that I probably won’t screw it all up. Probably! In other news, I joined a monthly assignment put on by a Photography forum that I frequent. I’ve agreed to only use two prime lenses to take my pictures for the remaineder of this month. There is one exception. One that will allow me to use more than two lenses for the shooting of the two weddings I have for this month. Now, you’re probably wondering what the heck a prime lens is. It’s pretty simple, actually. It is a lens that has a fixed focal length. A lens that does not zoom. See? That was really simple! For the assignment, I chose my newly acquired Sigma 50mm and a very old, but very good, lens – Nikkor 85mm. We are expected to take photographs daily and post them in the forum for the others to see and critique. This is a great way for one to get really familiar with their current limitations as well as their imagination. Without the versatility of a zoom lens, you have to compensate by moving yourself and your subject. Trust me, it’s harder than it sounds. So, without further adu, here is my first image for the assignment. I took this with the Sigma 50mm.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

