my pictures. my life


Streetness: Part II
March 12, 2009, 12:32 pm
Filed under: Personal | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This lovely weather is just too conducive for this type of shooting that I could not resist the urge to hit the streets again. This time, though, it didn’t start off as smoothly as last week. You’ll see what I mean with the first image. But I think I’ve been down there enough with my camera, laying down in suspicious and awkward positions on the sidewalks and streets, that the folks are getting used to me. They have grown numb to my intentions. In general, people are inherently nice….even if they don’t have a job or a home. I’m very fortunate to be allowed the opportunity to document a small portion of their lives. Like my last street posting, I was only armed with my camera and one single 35mm lens. I like to shoot wide and get close to my subjects, while incorporating the surroundings at the same time. I hope you enjoy this series!

Been a while since someone gave me the bird!
_dsc8310

Gee, I wonder what he’s staring at…..

_dsc8271

_dsc8263

_dsc8280

_dsc8290

_dsc83171

_dsc83211

_dsc8324

These gals were pretty cool. I asked if I could take their picture and they sorta hesitated but agreed to. I went inside the shop and got some coffee, when I came out, they ended up inviting me to sit down with them – interesting conversations ensued! Really nice and eclectic gals. I love the people in this town.

_dsc8329

_dsc8334

_dsc8331

_dsc83431

_dsc8362

_dsc83771

_dsc8379

_dsc8395

_dsc8403

I hope you’ve enjoyed these as much as I have enjoyed taking them. Feel free to let me know what you think of them.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

😀 looks great man

oh, thought you might get a kick out of this

oK

Comment by oK

Mannnnnn! I need me one of those!

Comment by francisjoseph

Cool street photography!

Comment by Emil Avasilichioaiei

Why thank you 🙂

Comment by francisjoseph

oh my god, these portraits are so fantastic!

Comment by filmfish

Thanks for the kind words, filmfish!

Comment by francisjoseph

Really excellent street photography.

Comment by Jacob

Thank you, Jacob 🙂

Comment by francisjoseph

Great Pics!! They remind me of Gary Winogrand work.

Comment by JESTER

Thank you, Jester! I’ve been told that once before, which prompted me to research him, because I’ve not heard of him prior to that. 🙂

Comment by francisjoseph

i had so much fun viewing these pics. i have lived in austin all of my life. when you’ve lived in a place your entire life you forget how beautiful it really is…thank you for reminding me 🙂

Comment by mooschka

Well I am really glad you enjoyed my pictures! It makes me feel good when that happens. I like to capture some of the daily things we tend to overlook as we go about our business. 🙂

Comment by francisjoseph




Leave a Reply

